Skip to main content

Vote: Who was the top Texas (UIL) 4A/5A/6A girls basketball player in 2024 state tournament?

We gathered the top big school stars from UIL state week in San Antonio. Now, we want to hear from you

Six Texas state high school girls basketball championship trophies were handed and the UIL season came to a close in the championship on Saturday at the Alamodome in San Antonio.

There were many standout performances among the big school ranks, La Vega beat Canyon in 4A, Frisco Liberty upended nationally ranked Mansfield Timberview in 5A and Duncanville beat South Grand Prairie in Class 6A. 

Trophies were handed out and all-tournament teams were named.  We gathered the top big school — 4A, 5A and 6A — performers. Now, we want to hear from you.

Scroll down and scan the top stars of the week and cast your vote in the reader poll. Voting is open until Monday, March 12 at 11:59 p.m. central time.



Kiyleyah Parr, the 4A tournament MVP, scores two of her 15 points of La Vega's state title win over Canyon on Saturday.

Kiyleyah Parr, the 4A tournament MVP, scores two of her 15 points of La Vega's state title win over Canyon on Saturday.

Mar'Cyah Willis, Waco La Vega (4A)

Hit four 3s on her way to a team-high 16 points in a semifinal win over Dallas Lincoln. Struggled shooting in La Vega's championship win over Canyon while going 4 of 4 from the free throw line.

Kiyleyah Parr, Waco La Vega (4A)

Scored most of her 15 points in La Vega's 65-60 4A semifinal win over Dallas Lincoln at the free throw line, where she went 11 of 18 along with four steals. In the championship, scored a game-high 21 points (8 of 14 shooting) and eight steals. Named Class 4A tournament MVP.

Jaylee Moss, Canyon (4A)

Scored a game-high 26 points and nabbed six board in a semifinal win over Boerne, then scored 12 points in the 4A title.

Averi Aaron, Boerne (4A)

Scored a team-high 13 points in Boerne's state semifinals loss to Canyon.

Kamryn Wilson, Mansfield Timberview (5A)

When shots weren't falling, she got to the line and went 7 of 8 on her way to 13 points to go with her 12 rebounds in a 22-point semifinal win over Cedar Park. She scored six points in the state title.

Keyera Roseby, Frisco Liberty (5A)

Scored 13 points and pulled down eight boards in a blowout win over Richmond Randle, one of four Redhawks in double figures scoring. Then had eight points and five boards in Liberty's 5A title win over Mansfield Timberview.

Jacy Abii, Frisco Liberty (5A)

She's a five-star for a reason. Abii had 17 points, 18 boards, eight assists and six blocks as Liberty thumped Richmond Randle, then droped 30 points and pulled down 12 boards in a 60-51 comeback win over nationally ranked Mansfield Timberview in the title. Class 5A tournament MVP.

Alaysia Cook, Richmond Randle (5A)

Her team-high 13 points didn't reflect the way she carried her team in a season-ending defeat, especially in the first half where she had 10 of Randle's 14 points.

Mariah Clayton, Duncanville (6A)

Scored a game-high 18 of Duncanville's 39 points on 7 of 8 shooting in a semifinal win over Humble Summer Creek, then followed it up with 19 points and nine boards in a 6A championship win over South Grand Prairie.

Chloe Mann, Duncanville (6A)

Scored 14 points in the semifinals, then 13 in the state title, which included going 8 of 12 from the free throw line in the championship.

Taylor Barnes, South Grand Prairie (6A)

Scored 24 points and pulled down 14 boards in an 11-point state semifinal win over Brennan and 14 points in a 6A title loss to Duncanville.

Kennedy Carlyle, Cedar Park (6A)

Scored a game-high 19 points with a perfect 4 of 4 3-point attempts cashed. The Utah Valley commit had five boards and three assists in a semifinal loss to Mansfield Timberview.

Editor’s Note: Our reader poll features are intended to be fun and generate productive discussion. We do not set limits on how many times a fan can vote during the competition. However, we do not allow votes that are generated by script, macro or other automated means. Athletes that receive votes generated by script, macro or other automated means will be disqualified.

-- Andy Buhler | | @sblivetx