Skip to main content

OHSAA releases 2022-23 boys basketball divisional assignments

Defending Division II state champion Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary moves up to Division I
Photo by Ben Jackson

Photo by Ben Jackson

The OHSAA announced the 2022-23 boys basketball divisional assignments on Tuesday morning. More than 70 teams will compete in a different division than they did in 2021-22.

The most notable of those teams is Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary.

The two-time defending Division II state champions will go up and play in Division I this upcoming season. The Fighting Irish had dropped from Division I to Division II for the 2019-20 season and remained there last year. STVM had been in Division I just for that 2018-19 season and had won the Division II state title in 2018 and 2019, while finishing as state runner-up in 2017.

One other state semifinalist from this previous season will be changing divisions, as Division IV state runner-up New Middletown Tri-Village moves up to Division III.

Below are the changes in divisions:

Up from Division II to Division I (14 teams):

Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary, Cleveland School of Science and Medicine, Hamilton Ross, Monroe, Chardon, Cleveland PACT @ John F. Kennedy, Cincinnati Aiken, Columbus South, Columbus St. Francis De Sales, Louisville, Cleveland Garrett Morgan, Tiffin Columbian, Warren Howland, Trotwood-Madison

Up from Division III to Division II (2 teams):

Dayton Meadowdale, Jefferson Area

Down from Division I to Division II (10 teams):

New Carlisle Tecumseh, Bedford, Whitehall-Yearling, Painesville Harvey, Franklin, Madison, Alliance, Cleveland Lincoln West School of Global Studies, Zanesville, Chagrin Falls Kenston

Up from Division IV to Division III (16 teams):

Spencerville, Cleveland Campus International, Toledo Emmanuel Christian School, Cuyahoga Heights, Brookfield, Castalia Margaretta, Cardington-Lincoln, Columbus Grandview Heights, Peebles, Independence, Carey, Lucasville Valley, Howard East Knox, Hicksville, New Madison Tri-Village, Malvern, Columbus Grove

Down from Division II to Division III (15 teams):

Lorain Clearview, Norwood, Chagrin Falls, Columbus Horizon Science Academy, Cortland Lakeview, Germantown Valley View, Waynesville, Mentor Lake Catholic, Cleveland St. Martin de Porres, Heath, Perry, Springfield Northwestern, West Milton Milton-Union, Cleveland Bard High School Early College, Huron

Down from Division III to Division IV (20 teams):

Galion Northmor, Oberlin, Elmore Woodmore, Middlefield Cardinal, Miamisburg Dayton Christian, Orwell Grand Valley, Loudonville, North Lewisburg Triad, Mechanicsburg, North Robinson Colonel Crawford, Newcomerstown, Oregon Cardinal Stritch Catholic, Attica Seneca East, Covington, Bridgeport, Cincinnati Riverview East Academy, New Middleton Springfield, Delphos Jefferson, Toledo Maumee Valley Country Day, Columbus Wellington School