Skip to main content

The OHSAA announced the 2022 football divisional breakdowns and regional assignments on Monday morning. When the new season begins, more than 70 teams will find themselves in a different division than they were in for 2021.

The most notable might be Versailles. The 2021 Division V state champions will drop a division and participate in Division VI this upcoming year.

Three other teams who made the state semifinals will also move divisions, as Dover moves up from Division III to Division II, Port Clinton drops form Division IV to Division V and New Middletown Springfield drops from Division VI to Division VII.

One new team who was not eligible for the postseason last year has been added, as Cincinnati Riverview East Academy will participate in Division VII.

Below are the changes in divisions:

Up from Division II to Division I:

Cleveland John Marshall, Lewis Center Olentangy, Wadsworth, Berlin Delaware Olentangy.

Down from Division I to Division II:

Shaker Heights, Solon, Toledo Start.

Up from Division III to Division II:

Sylvania Northview, Columbus St. Francis De Sales, Cincinnati Northwest, Ashland, Hamilton Ross, Cincinnati Aiken, Dover, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary.

Up from Division IV to Division II:

Cleveland John Adams.

Down from Division II to Division III:

West Carrollton, New Carlisle Tecumseh, Hunting Valley University School, Kent Roosevelt, Bedford, Whitehall-Yearling.

Down from Division III to Division IV:

Steubenville, Delaware Buckeye Valley, Youngstown East, St. Mary’s Memorial, Hubbard, Streetsboro, Columbus Eastmoor Academy, Akron Springfield, Niles McKinley, Coventry, Columbus Bishop Hartley, Caledonia River Valley.

Up from Division V to Division IV:

Franklin Bishop Fenwick, Cleveland Central Catholic.

Down from Division IV to Division V:

Marengo Highland, Navarre Fairless, Port Clinton, Lorain Clearview, LaGrange Keystone, Cortland Lakeview, Norwood, Chagrin Falls, Heath, Germantown Valley View, Wooster Triway, Belmont Union Local.

Up from Division VI to Division V:

Proctorville Fairland, Columbus Africentric Early College.

Down from Division V to Division VI:

Oak Hill, London Madison-Plains, Martins Ferry, West Salem Northwestern, Bucyrus Wynford, Brooklyn, Doylestown Chippewa, West Liberty-Salem, Rootstown, Kansas Lakota, Versailles, Bellaire, Grove City Christia.n

Down from Division VI to Division VII:

East Canton, Mechanicsburg, Gibsonburg, Stewart Federal Hocking, Fort Recovery, Oregon Cardinal Stritch Catholic, Delphos Jefferson, New Middletown Springfield, Minster, Louisville St. Thomas Aquinas, Willow Wood Symmes Valley, Cincinnati Miami Valley Christian Academy.