Skip to main content

By René Ferrán| Photo by Michele Bunch

The 3A wrestling district meets took place over the weekend, with the OSAA state championships scheduled for Feb. 26 at La Pine High School. Here’s a look at the champions and takeaways from each of the three district meets. The top three finishers at each district meet qualify for state.

Special District 1 (at Nyssa)

Team champion: La Pine (381.5 points)

Individual champions

106 Canon Winn, Fr., Burns

113 Kale Cornell, Fr., Burns

120 Landyn Philpott, Fr., La Pine

126 Oliver Barnes, Sr., Burns

132 Devon Kerr, Fr., La Pine

138 Dylan Mann, Sr., La Pine

145 Jacob Ayala, Sr., Irrigon

152 Hunter Kemper, Jr., Burns

160 Garret Forbes, Jr., La Pine

170 Cache Montgomery, So., La Pine

182 Alec Carey, Sr., Nyssa

195 Dylan Hankey, Sr., La Pine

220 Jesse Aragon, Jr., Nyssa

285 Kody Van Meter, Sr., Nyssa


La Pine and Burns have combined to win the past three Class 3A state titles, and together, they won 10 of 14 district titles and grabbed 24 of 42 available berths to this weekend’s state meet in La Pine. The Hawks, who won the OWA state title in June, will have 14 wrestlers on their home mats, including returning state champions Mann and Tyson Flack — Flack lost a 7-3 decision to Winn in the 106 district final. Another spring state champion who lost in the district final was Burns senior Kevin Peasley, beaten by Ayala in sudden-victory overtime in the 145 final.

Special District 2 (at Yamhill-Carlton)

Team champion: Warrenton (308.5 points)

Individual champions

106 Hunter Hendricks, Jr., Rainier

113 Damon LaRue, So., Rainier

120 Cayden Hill, So., Yamhill-Carlton

126 Austin Atwood, Sr., Warrenton

132 Christian Roberts, Sr., Rainier

138 Austin Johnson, Jr., Willamina/Falls City

145 Tony Cisneros, Sr., Dayton

152 Logan Chapman, Sr., Rainier

160 Michael Fox, Sr., Willamina/Falls City

170 Sprye Nelson, Sr., Willamina/Falls City

182 David Bowlin, Sr., Dayton

195 Corey Greenlaw, Sr., Willamina/Falls City

220 Josh Smith, Sr., Warrenton

285 Joshua Ruiz-Jimenez, Sr., Taft


Warrenton won a second consecutive district title, topping second-place Rainier by nearly 100 points despite having just two district champions. The Warriors had five other finalists and will send a district-best 10 wrestlers to state. State 2018 champion Willamina/Falls City matched Rainier with four district champions, including Fox, who’s looking to repeat as 160 champion and make his fourth state final. Cisneros, who won the 138 state title in June, improved to 24-0 with a technical fall over Warrenton’s Parker Greenawald at 145, while Bowlin will defend his state title at 182. Rainier (eight), Willamina (seven) and Dayton (seven) will all be in the mix for team trophies at La Pine.

Special District 3 (at Cascade Christian)

Team champion: Harrisburg (342 points)

Individual champions

106 Luke Cheek, Fr., Harrisburg

113 Joseph Hutchins, Fr., Cascade Christian

120 Tyler Waldron, So., Douglas

126 Curtis Talmadge, Jr., Harrisburg

132 Nephi Heakin, So., Harrisburg

138 Kaden Haugen, Jr., Santiam Christian

145 Gavin Hoellrich, Jr., Pleasant Hill

152 Levi Forson, Jr., Scio

160 Sage Baker, Jr., Douglas

170 Bryce Chilgren, Jr., Harrisburg

182 Brazen Ellis, Jr., Pleasant Hill

195 Caj Simmons, Sr., South Umpqua

220 Trent Olsen, Sr., Sutherlin

285 Maddox Griggs, Jr., Sutherlin


Harrisburg won its first district title since 2017, with four district champions leading a 14-wrestler contingent headed to La Pine this weekend. The Eagles last reached the podium in 2019 with a third-place finish. Chilgren knocked off top seed Charles Conrad of Pleasant Hill with a 10-6 decision to win at 170. Simmons (20-0) and Olsen (33-0) kept their undefeated seasons intact heading to the state tournament. This district was the most egalitarian of any meet at any classification — eight of the nine teams had at least one champion, including the first for Douglas since 2019.