Skip to main content

As part of our end-of-season all-state awards, SBLive will recognize the top players and coaches in Texas high school football for their phenomenal performances during the 2021 season.

The following 12 standout coaches have been selected as finalists for SBLive’s 2021 Texas Football Coach of the Year, which honors the top head coach in the state.

The winners of SBLive’s Player of the Year, Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and Coach of the Year awards will be unveiled the week of Jan. 24, along with SBLive’s 2021 All-State Texas Football teams.

But before we unveil our winners, we want your opinion: Who do you think should be the 2021 Coach of the Year?

Cast your vote below.

Coaches listed in alphabetical order.


Ray Biles (Lorena) — Led Leopards to 14-2 record and 3A DII state title for first career state championship in 35th season at Lorena

Daniel Boedeker (Shiner) — Led Comanches to 16-0 record and second consecutive 2A DI state title to extend 32-game winning streak in second season

Todd Dodge (Austin Westlake) — Led Chaparrals to 16-0 record and 6A DII state title for third consecutive 6A state championship extending school-record 40-game winning streak

Sterling Doty (Stephenville) — Led Yellow Jackets to 16-0 record and 4A DI state title in third season as HC at alma mater

Kevin Flanigan (Tomball) — Led Cougars to 12-3 record and 6A DII state semifinals appearance for first time since 1985

B.J. Gotte (Katy Paetow) — Led Panthers to 15-1 record and 5A DI state title in fourth season for first state championship in program history

Jon Kay (Galena Park North Shore) — Led Mustangs to 15-1 record and third 6A DI state title in last four seasons

Matt Lovorn (Stratford) — Led Elks to 15-1 record and 2A DII state title in seventh season after 7-5 record in 2020

Moses Patterson (McAllen Memorial) — Led Mustangs to 12-1 record and 5A DII regional semifinals in first season after being named interim HC in late May

Eric Peevey (Little Cypress-Mauriceville) — Led Bears to 11-3 record and 4A DI regional championship in first season as HC after 1-7 record in 2020

Jason Todd (South Oak Cliff) — Led Bears to 16-0 record and 5A DII state title becoming first Dallas ISD football state champion since 1958

Kent Walker (Liberty Hill) — Led Panthers to 15-1 record and 5A DII state title game appearance in first full season as HC