Skip to main content

Here are the candidates for SBLive’s Mississippi high school boys basketball player of the week for Feb. 8-14 as nominated by fans, readers and SBLive’s staff. Read through the nominees and cast your vote at the bottom of the page. Voting will conclude on Sunday at 11:59 p.m and the winner will be announced Monday. If you would like to make a nomination in a future week, please email or tag us on Twitter or Instagram at @sblivems.


Braxton Bishop, Tupelo: Bishop was named Division MVP after leading Tupelo to a 72-52 win over Olive Branch in the Region 1-6A Championship.

Rashad Bolden, St. Andrew’s: Bolden dropped 37 points to lead St. Andrew’s to an 87-60 win over Yazoo County in the Region 6-3A Championship.

Gavin Brinker, Pontotoc: Brinker scored 26 points and pulled down 10 rebounds to lead Pontotoc to a 70-53 win over Shannon in the Region 2-4A Championship.

Devin Carter, Florence: Carter had 34 points, 7 rebounds and 6 assists in Florence's 62-48 win over Mendenhall on Friday.

John Davis, Pascagoula: Davis drilled the game-winning 3-pointer at the buzzer to give Pascagoula a 37-34 win over Wayne County.

Zandon Haralson, Center Hill: Haralson scored 32 points in Center Hill’s 58-56 OT loss to Lake Cormorant.

Jordan Hibbler, Southaven: Hibbler scored 16 points to lead Southaven to a 60-38 win over Oxford in the Region 2-6A Championship.

Josh Hubbard, MRA: Hubbard scored 28 points to lead MRA to a 77-69 win over Jackson Academy.

Phillip Hughes, MRA: Hughes scored 24 points in MRA’s 77-69 win over Jackson Academy.

Marquavous Jones, Holly Springs: Jones scored 23 points in the Hawks’ 89-80 double OT loss to Senatobia.

Dylan King, Holly Springs: King scored 23 points in the Hawks’ 89-80 double OT loss to Senatobia.

Eli Lamb, Lewisburg: Lamb scored 20 points in Lewisburg’s last-second 56-55 loss to DeSoto Central in the Region 1-6A consolation game. 

Kendal Lewis, DeSoto Central: Lewis nailed the go-ahead 3-pointer with 16 seconds left to lift DeSoto to a 66-65 win over Lewisburg in the Region 1-6A consolation game.

D.J. McKnight, Lake Cormorant: McKnight filled up the stat sheet with 8 points, 10 rebounds and 2 blocks in Lake Cormorant’s 58-56 overtime win over Center Hill in the Region 1-5A Championship. McKnight’s 2 blocks have him the school record for career blocked shots.

Tyler Oehrli, West Jones: Trailing Laurel 54-52 with one second left on the clock, the West Jones High School boys basketball team needed a miracle Friday night. And they got one. Oehrli took the inbounds pass in the backcourt, turned and fired a shot from the volleyball line – approximately 50 feet from the basket. It banked in at the buzzer, giving West Jones a 55-54 win and setting off a wild celebration.

Duran Parrish, Biloxi: Parrish was named MVP of Region 7 after scoring 18 points to lead Biloxi over D’Iberville in the Region title game.

Donovan Sanders, Lake Cormorant: Sanders scored 18 points – including 5 in overtime – to lead Lake Cormorant to a 58-56 overtime win over Center Hill in the Region 1-5A Championship.

Tyson Smithey, Ingomar: Smithey exploded for 34 points and 21 rebounds to lead Ingomar over Smithville in the Div. 2-1A Tournament championship.

Isaiah Spencer, Madison Central: Spencer scored 17 points and pulled down 6 rebounds in the Jaguars’ 61-51 loss to Clinton.

Khirei Standifer, Smithville: Standifer scored 28 points in Smithville’s 79-69 loss to Ingomar in the Div. 2-1A championship.

Carlous Williams, Harrison Central: Williams scored 15 points and pulled down 11 rebounds to lead Harrison Central to a 57-44 win over Gulfport in the Region 8 Championship.