Skip to main content

The CIF State Office recently announced the Section nominees for the NFHS California Coach of the Year award for the 2019-20 school year.

“The coaches were selected based on the positive work they have done with the student-athletes in their respective sports programs,” per a CIF press release.

SBLive is taking a closer look at the nominees from each of the state’s 10 Sections. Here are the nominees from the San Diego Section:

Hugo Estrada - Calexico - Boys Basketball

Estrada coached the Bulldogs to the D4 San Diego Section Championship in 2019-20, their first in the 118-year history of the school.

Sade Wiley-Gatewood - Serra - Girls Basketball

Wiley-Gatewood helped the Connquistadors to a victory over San Diego Section power Mission Hills in the D1 Championship, a year after losing to the Grizzlies by 62 points during the regular season.

Tialoc Venancio - Crawford - Boys Cross Country

Venancio led the Colts to the San Diego Section D4 title in 2019.

Robert Muscheck - Sage Creek - Girls Cross Country

Muscheck helped the Bobcats to their third consecutive D4 Cross Country championship.

Tyler Roach - La Jolla - Football

Roach led the Vikings to a win over previously undefeated Scripps Ranch to capture the D3 championship, their first section title since 1993.

Richard Deem - Rancho Bernardo - Girls Golf

Deem coached the Broncos to the D1 championship, their third consecutive section title.

Joaquin Huertero - Helix - Boys Soccer

Huertero helped the Highlanders to the D2 section championship and a berth in the SoCal Regional playoffs. It was the Highlander's first championship since 1983.

Wayne Brewton - Otay Ranch - Girls Soccer

Brewton coached the Mustangs to a 3-2 victory over La Jolla Country Day in the D3 section championship, the first title in school history.

Erik Hur - Olympian - Girls Tennis

Hur led the Eagles to the D3 section championship in his first year, taking down Otay Ranch in the finals via tiebreaker.

Cheley Strahm - Holtville - Girls Volleyball

Strahm led the Vikings to the D4 section championship, the school's first since 1994, by taking down High Tech High Chula Vista in five sets in the championship.