Skip to main content

Overall Arkansas high school tennis state championships roundup

Results from Tuesday's Arkansas overall state tennis championships

By Jeff Halpern 

State overall tennis champions were crowned Tuesday in boys singles and doubles, girls singles and doubles at the State Overall Tournament at Burns Park in North Little Rock.


Ethan Richardson of Jonesboro, the Class 6A champion, defeated Graham Hardin of Bentonville West 6-4, 6-3 to win the championship in a rematch of the 6A championship.

Richardson received a first-round bye and defeated Alex Patrick of Shiloh Christian, 6-0, 6-0 before beating Keeton Dassinger of Episcopal Collegiate, 7-5, 6-1. Hardin, who received a first-round bye, defeated Shawn Hudson-Seegraves of Piggott, 6-1, 6-0 before beating Ben Holis of Hot Springs Lakeside 6-3, 6-2.


Boyce Reed and Santiago Aquirre of Bentonville defeated Jacob Nordin and Spencer Holloway of Fayetteville, 6-3, 7-6 for the championship, earning a measure of revenge after losing the 6A title the previous week. Reed and Aquirre defeated Matthew Wewers and Nick Adams of Subiaco Academy, 6-1, 6-0 in the first round before beating Grayson Cornelison and Barrett Tipton of Hot Springs Lakeside, 6-1, 6-2 in the semifinals.

Nordin and Holloway received a first-round bye before beating Matthew New and Rhett Rabb of Central Arkansas Christian, 6-0, 6-0 in the quarterfinals and beating Aiden Matthews and Justus Thurlby of Shiloh Christian, 6-4, 6-2 in the semifinals.


Cassie Cervantes of Bentonville West defeated Stella DeVera of Rogers Heritage 6-4, 4-6, 6-3 for the championships.

DeVera lost to Ella Coleman of Bentonville, 7-6, 6-4 for the Class 6A title.

Cervantes received a first-round bye before beating Lovey Reynolds of Episcopal, 6-0, 6-2 and Zayla Ware of Joe T. Robinson, 6-0, 6-4 in the semifinals.

De Vera defeated Aubrey Walters of Elkins, 6-1, 6-0 and Otha Los of Siloam Springs, 6-2, 6-0 in the semifinals.


Leena Cashman and Naya Kessman of Haas Hall Fayetteville, who won the Class 3A title, defeated Caroline Lasley and Kyushu Patil of Little Rock Central, 7-5, 4-6, 6-3 for the title.

Cashman and Kessman received a first-round bye before beating Elizabeth Cowen and Sabrina Long of Hot Springs Lakeside, 6-1, 6-1 and Glennah Langford and Kavya Kurichety of Bentonville, 3-6, 7-6, 7-5 in the semifinals.

Lasley and Patil had a first-round bye before beating Handley Humphrey and Emily Vold of Shiloh Christian, 6-1, 6-1 and Jaymie Angtuaco and Danna Homsi of Pulaski Academy, 6-3, 6-2.